Seventh International Accelerator School for Linear Colliders

27 November8 December 2012
Radisson Blu Hotel, Indore, India

Organised by the ILC GDE, CLIC and ICFA Beam Dynamics Panel

Hosted by Raja Ramanna Centre for Advanced Technology

This school is a continuation of the series of schools started six years ago (2006 in Japan, 2007 in Italy, 2008 in the U.S., 2009 in China, 2010 in Switzerland and 2011 in the U.S.). Based on the needs from the high-energy physics community, the ILC GDE, CLIC and ICFA Beam Dynamics Panel will organise a Seventh International Accelerator School for Linear Colliders. The focus of the school will be on TeV-scale linear colliders including the International Linear Collider (ILC), the Compact Linear Collider (CLIC) and the Muon Collider. The target students are graduate students, postdoctoral fellows and junior researchers from around the world. We welcome applications from physicists who are considering changing their career from experimental physics to accelerator physics. This school is adopting an in depth approach. Therefore, former students are welcome to apply if they have a compelling reason to do so. The school will be in lecture style. There will be homework assignments and a final examination, but no university credit will be offered.


  • Overview of TeV-scale future lepton colliders (ILC, CLIC, Muon Collider and other advanced colliders)
  • Accelerator physics for sources, damping rings, linacs and beam delivery system
  • Super conducting and warm RF technology, LLRF and high power RF, beam instrumentation

Important notes

  • Maximum number of students is 70.
  • Students will receive financial aid (full or partial) for covering the expenses for attending this school, including airfare, lodging, meals, local transportation and school supplies.
  • Application qualification: graduate students, post doctoral fellows, junior researchers.
  • Former students are allowed to apply.
  • Online application only.
  • Requirements: registration form, CV, one recommendation letter.
  • Application fee: free.
  • Application deadline: July 20, 2012
Online application
   Application is closed. Applicants will be informed if they are accepted.

General information

More information

Organising committee

  • Barry Barish (GDE/Caltech, Chair)
  • Alex Chao (SLAC)
  • Hesheng Chen (IHEP)
  • Weiren Chou (ICFA BD Panel/Fermilab)
  • Paul Grannis (Stony Brook Univ.)
  • P D Gupta (RRCAT)
  • In Soo Ko (PAL)
  • Shin-ichi Kurokawa (KEK)
  • Hermann Schmickler (CERN)
  • Nick Walker (DESY)
  • Kaoru Yokoya (KEK)

Curriculum committee

  • Weiren Chou (Fermilab, Chair)
  • William Barletta (USPAS)
  • Alex Chao (SLAC)
  • Jie Gao (IHEP)
  • Srinivas Krishnagopal (BARC)
  • Carlo Pagani (INFN/Milano)
  • Joerg Rossbach (DESY)
  • Hermann Schmickler (CERN)
  • Nobuhiro Terunuma (KEK)
  • Kaoru Yokoya (KEK)

Local committee

  • P D Gupta (RRCAT, Chair)
  • P R Hannurkar (RRCAT)
  • S C Joshi (RRCAT)
  • S K Shukla (RRCAT)


Satish C. Joshi
Raja Ramanna Centre for Advanced Technology
Indore, M. P. – 452013, India
phone: +91-731-2442244
fax: +91-731-2442200