Ninth International Accelerator School for Linear Colliders

26 October6 November 2015
Delta Whistler Village Suites, Whistler,
British Columbia, Canada

Organised by the Linear Collider Collaboration and the ICFA Beam Dynamics Panel

Hosted by TRIUMF

This school is a continuation of the series of schools that began nine years ago: Japan 2006, Italy 2007, United States 2008, China 2009, Switzerland 2010, United States 2011, India 2012 and Turkey 2013. Based on needs from the accelerator community, the Linear Collider Collaboration (LCC) and ICFA Beam Dynamics Panel are organising the Ninth International Accelerator School for Linear Colliders. The school will present instruction in TeV-scale linear colliders including the ILC, CLIC and other advanced accelerators. An important change of this year’s school from previous LC schools is that it will also include the free electron laser (FEL), a natural extension for applications of the ILC/CLIC technology. The school is offered to graduate students, postdoctoral fellows and junior researchers from around the world. We welcome applications from physicists who are considering changing to a career in accelerator physics and technology. This school adopts an in depth approach. A selective course on the FEL has been added; therefore, former students are welcome to apply if they have a compelling reason to do so. The school will be lecture style. There will be homework assignments and a final examination, but no university credit will be offered.


  • Overview of TeV-scale lepton colliders (ILC, CLIC and other advanced accelerators)
  • Accelerator physics and technology of linear colliders
  • Accelerator physics and technology of the free electron laser (FEL)

Important notes

Organising committee

  • Lyn Evans (CERN, Chair)
  • Alex Chao (SLAC)
  • Hesheng Chen (IHEP)
  • Weiren Chou (Fermilab)
  • Paul Grannis (Stony Brook Univ.)
  • P D Gupta (RRCAT)
  • Mike Harrison (BNL)
  • In Soo Ko (PAL)
  • Shin-ichi Kurokawa (KEK)
  • Hermann Schmickler (CERN)
  • Steinar Stapnes (CERN)
  • Nobuhiro Terunuma (KEK)
  • Nick Walker (DESY)

Curriculum committee

  • Weiren Chou (Fermilab, Chair)
  • William Barletta (USPAS)
  • Alex Chao (SLAC)
  • Jie Gao (IHEP)
  • Shane Koscielniak (TRIUMF)
  • Srinivas Krishnagopal (BARC)
  • Lia Merminga (TRIUMF)
  • Carlo Pagani (Milano Univ. & INFN)
  • Joerg Rossbach (Hamburg Univ.)
  • Takayuki Saeki (KEK)
  • Hermann Schmickler (CERN)
  • Nobuhiro Terunuma (KEK)

Local committee

  • Lia Merminga (TRIUMF, Chair)
  • Shane Koscielniak (TRIUMF)
  • Jana Thomson (TRIUMF)
  • G. Roy (TRIUMF)


Ms. Cynthia M. Sazama
Fermi National Accelerator Laboratory
P.O. Box 500
Batavia, Illinois 60510
fax: +1-630-840-8589